The Music

Ralph Vaughan Williams (1872 – 1958)

To celebrate the 150th year of his birth …

Toward The Unknown Region (1907), a remarkable marriage of music and Walt Whitman’s text which established Vaughan Williams as an important English composer.

Read about it.  |  Listen to it.  


Mass in g minor (1921), a distinctly English and deeply spiritual mass in five unaccompanied movements.

Read about it.  |    Listen to it (with score).Learn parts with Cyberbass.

Johannes Brahms (1833 – 1897)

Vier Quartette, Op. 92 (1884), a setting of four secular poems by Goethe, Daumer, Allmers, and Hebbel, demonstrating Brahms’s mastery of lyrical melody in depicting romantic moods.


 Read about it (p 3).     |  Listen to it.

Acquiring Music

Brahms: Vier Quartette, Op. 92
Brahms scores are not available to rent. You may purchase them from Ogontz Arts for $8. In order to make best use of our rehearsal time, it is helpful if we all sing from the same edition. The preferred edition, edited by Uwe Wolf, is published by Carus Verlag. [Our bulk order allows us to offer this price. Individual copies cost considerably more.]

Vaughan Williams

Both scores are available to rent. We have sung both pieces at Ogontz before, so you might already own them!

Cost of renting Vaughan Williams
 scores through Ogontz Arts Foundation: $2 each. Rented music must be returned before leaving at the end of the workshop.

Want to purchase your own? [Take note of lead times for shipping.]:

To pick up your rented and/or purchased music upon arrival, order by July 24. You may either …

  • let us charge you in advance to the same credit card you used to pay your tuition (recommended), or
  • bring exact change in cash or a check payable to Ogontz Arts Foundation. Credit cards will not be accepted on site for music.

To have your music mailed to you ahead of time for an additional $5 S/H charge, order by July 10. Pre-payment is required. We expect to begin mailing out music in late June, once we receive the Brahms scores.

Questions? Email Claire

Order music here